Carrot Cake Whoopie Pies

Yesterday we had an ice day in the GTA area and didn’t have to go into work! I spent the day responding to emails and baking Easter treats with Carolyn and Greg.  We made carrot cake whoopie pies and easter chick macarons.

The carrot cake whoopie pies were amazing and literally melt in your mouth.  The recipe was not complicated and used ingredients that can always be found in your house.

We ended up letting the dough sit in the refrigerator overnight and it didn’t cause any issues.  Again, the silicon mats have come very handy for equally sizing out the pies.  I didn’t have a cookie dough scooper so I just ended up using my hands to scoop out the dough.

IMG_4924

I think there are special baking trays designed to create the perfect circular whoopie pie but ours turned out pretty round!

IMG_4925

The recipe called for a cream cheese filling.  I ended up reducing the amount of sugar and eliminated the butter from the recipe.

IMG_4927

Final product.  Happy Easter!

Leave a comment